Creative Activities

Brilliant Blogging Babble

So, I have realized that my main struggle with blogging is that I feel like I lack creative skills in making my writing interesting. Yes, I may have a fancy paper stating I’m the “Master of Arts” in English, but that seems to be of little help here. I have taken a Creative Writing class before, but truth be told, I have not done this kind of writing – the kind that other people may read – for a very long time, so I’m a little rusty. Side note: can people literally get rusty? We have some metals in our body, so I feel like it could be possible, although I’m not scientifically knowledgeable enough to know the answer to this. Something for me to research later, I guess. Anyways, back to my blog writing skills (or lack thereof).

Is creative blog writing something that just comes naturally, or do people actually put a lot of thought and time into crafting posts that are interesting and fun to read? I’m hoping that by writing all these blog posts this semester, I will develop better blog writing skills, but is this even measurable? I was considering incorporating some writing goals related to this blog, but I’m not really sure how I would go about that. What even is a “good” blog post? It’s probably subjective, and while content is important, you also need to develop a knack for delivering this content in an interesting and creative way, so people become interested – much like teaching!

But, much like in teaching, different people are going to find different ways of delivering content interesting. What is your preferred kind of writing when it comes to blogs? Do you prefer blogs that are shorter, or longer? Is humor an important aspect of your blog-cravings, or do you prefer a more serious tone?

Let me know what you think!

– Martina

4 thoughts on “Brilliant Blogging Babble”

  1. Hello Martina!!!! I have enjoyed your blogs so far for sure! I wondered the same thing, how am I supposed to write this? I like to pretend I’m telling a colourful enthusiastic story to students/classmates/anyone who might visit the site. I made sure mine was G/PG because I’m not sure who might read this so there is no point in being vulgar (even though I love it). I was wondering the same, how do I write to captivate an audience? What are people looking for? What makes people want to stop and read? I wondered a few times when my posts were getting long, if it would be better to do 2 or 3 short blogs instead, but sometimes it just needs to be one longer one. I think the nice thing about this blog setup is that the reader can read the title and decide if they want to read the rest of the post from there (I try to be catchy but I don’t think that is always the case). I also always hope everyone reads all my posts but there are kind of a lot so I definitely don’t expect it. lol. Anyways I’ve been enjoying your blog so far, nothing has felt too long :). Happy Blogging Sweet Martina! ♥♥♥

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much – I’m very much enjoying your blog, too! It sure is a bit of a journey to figure it all out, and I really like your idea of thinking of it as sharing a colorful story – I can definitely sense that in your blog and I love it! I’ll definitely keep that thought in mind 🙂 Thanks, and happy blogging to you too!

      Like

Leave a comment